Posted by: Stu | October 8, 2008

Destination Torridon (Saturday, 4 October 2008)

One of the Routes on my hit list, I described a wee while back, is the Beinn Damph Circuit up near Torridon. It starts at the north end of Loch Damh, goes south along it going from double to Singletrack, then heads East around the south end of Beinn Damh and then back along the Drochaid Coire Roill. It can be seen on streetmap here.

I’m delighted that a) it features in this month’s MBR mag that I’ve just had dropped through the door and it looks great… and b) that I spotted it on the map first 🙂

The Ben Damph route is only around 20-25km I reckon, so to make a worthy weekend of it, we’ll need another nice long route in the same area…

Lucky then, that this is just up the road from the top of the Applecross peninsula, also on the hit list! The Applecross route takes in the wonderful coastline road then cuts back up toward Loch Torridon on or off road.

There’s a singletrack that cuts through the peninsula toward Kenmore or Inverbain… or, if you we take the road bike up too, we could take in the highest mountain pass in the uk. The Bealach na Ba takes you from sea level to 2000ft in just 5 miles. Once at the bottom again, you head north through Glen Shieldaig back to base. This road route is described well on the Edinburgh Bicycle site. Dam this looks like a good weekend of riding.

I reckon this is a must do and it would be great to get it in before winter hits. Here’s hoping my back is up to it… please Physio Owen… Please!


Leave a comment

Categories